Lego Birthday Party – Decor and More

Continuing on from my last post and our Lego Birthday Party Awesomeness – the food edition… I’m really excited to share the decorations and other touches we did for the party. Super fun! So let’s get started.

the Invitations

After being inspired by this Etsy listing I set to making my own Lego invites. Want some directions? Here you go!

Supplies:

Black Cardstock

Colored Cardstock (I chose red yellow and blue)

White Cardstock

Printer

Circle Cutter (or something circular to trace)

3D Pop up foam adhesive

Glue Stick or other adhesive

Start by cutting your black cardstock into 8 1/2″x 5 1/2″ strips. Fold in half. Cut your colored cardstock into 5 1/8″x 4″ rectangles. Adhere the colored cardstock onto the front of your black card using a glue stick, double stick tape, or whatever your preferred method. Using your circle cutter (or circular object) cut 4 circles approximately 1 3/4″ out of the same color of cardstock. Apply a piece of 3D pop up foam adhesive to the back of each circle and space them evenly on top of your colored rectangle.

For the inside of the card I used my computer/printer to type up our birthday invite. I used the line “Let’s Build A Party!” (which the kids loved) and then I searched Google images for a Lego logo. I added our time, date and location info using colored ink and then printed it out on white cardstock. I then trimmed the cardstock to size and used the glue stick to adhere it to the inside of the card.

These invites fit perfectly inside a standard 4×6 invitation envelope. They were super simple and turned out very sharp with the black and bright solids.

the Present

I wrapped Axel’s gift the same way I did the juice boxes. Just some blue wrapping paper with blue wrapping paper circles and some more 3D pop up foam adhesive. The gift was pretty cool too! Axel wanted to watch a movie for his party and so I thought a Lego movie would be pretty great. I was so excited when I came across this:

the Gift

Shatterpoint Entertainment has put together a couple of movies using stop motion animation and Legos that retell popular Bible stories. Their newest one is on the story of Jericho and it is straight from the Bible. They also sell comic books of the story and we purchased those to go along with Axel’s gift and one for each of his friends to send home in their goodie bags. The movie was fun and the kids were all so amazed with the animation. They kept asking how they did everything. I may have to purchase the how to book that Shatterpoint sells as well!

the Goodie Bags

Excuse the lighting on that picture! Someday I will learn how to use my camera… I wish I had gotten a picture of all the goodie bags lined up in a row. They were so cute. I was inspired by this Etsy listing and I knew I could do it myself simply. Cardstock didn’t look right with the shiny bags, so I used the wrapping paper to make circles and affixed them with the 3D pop up foam adhesive. I used 4 dots of the adhesive because the wrapping paper was a little more flimsy and I didn’t want it curling. My gift bags were approximately 7 1/2″ x 9 1/2″ and the circles I cut were approximately 3 1/4″. Add some red tissue and they looked great! (Inside the goodie bags were their comic books, a Lego man ($2.99 at Target) and the crazy straws that they used with their supper.)

the Bag Tags

These were one of my favorite parts. I took a Lego and had Andrew drill a hole in the end of each one. Then I threaded the hole with embroidery floss and wrote their name on the side with a sharpie. Unfortunately I couldn’t find my black sharpie so I had to use a red one, but it still worked. I did most of the bags with a yellow Lego so we could have all the party colors represented, but I ran out and had to do some in red too.

the Game

I also found a fun idea for a Lego Collaboration game. We gave each child a baggie full of Legos and they decided they were going to build a tower. They went around the circle and each put on one piece at a time. I wasn’t sure how it would go over but they all loved it!

the Table

I kept the table decorations simple. I found red square plates, yellow plasticware and blue napkins. Along with some blue and yellow crazy straws just for fun.

the "Streamers"

I saw this listing on Etsy, but we were sticking to squares and rectangles so I decided to make my own garland. I simply cut out several different sizes of squares and rectangles out of red, blue and yellow cardstock and then ran them through my sewing machine using white thread. After each piece went through I raised the presser foot and pulled  some excess thread in between the pieces. I originally sewed them into one long strand but didn’t like how that looked and so then I cut them to have between 3 and 5 pieces on each strand. Love, love, love how it turned out and we left them up a few days because I didn’t want to take them down!

It was a super fantasticly successful party and fun was had by all. Don’t forget to check out my Lego Birthday Party- Food Edition for more Lego birthday party ideas!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ilene
    Jan 22, 2013 @ 12:22:09

    Love all your Lego birthday party ideas. Getting ready to do my grand-sons bedroom that he uses in our house in the Lego them. He also has the Jericho dvd plus their first two. Love that they are making Bible stories using what he likes most…..Lego’s. Thanks for posting all your ideas and how to’s.

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

