The Most Awesomest Gift Giver Ever

My sweet husband has always been the most amazing gift giver. He always buys me the things I never splurge for myself, or he will get me something I would never in a million years have thought I wanted and then it turns out to be the thing I love. I have two pairs of shoes that I get compliments on every time I wear them. Andrew picked them out. I take him with clothes shopping because he makes better choices for me than I do…

It was his buddies birthday the other day and Andrew was showing me the coffee mug and beans that he picked up as a gift. They were really cool and unique. When I asked where he got them he told me about a little place over on Marshall (not in our neighborhood) so I said, “Oh, what were you doing over there?” Andrew replied, “Getting this.” It was just so obvious to him, but I don’t tend to think that way.

For me, when it comes time to purchase a gift (especially for Andrew) I find myself freaking out about what to get. I realized I don’t know people well enough and that makes me sad. Especially when it comes to my husband.

So my goal for 2012 is to become the most awesomest gift giver ever. I want to be the one who remembers and acknowledges birthdays, anniversaries, and special occasions. My cousin sent me a card the other day with a $5 gift card to Caribou to congratulate me on my pregnancy. So simple and yet so thoughtful. That little piece of mail made my day! (Thanks Anne and Ellie)

No more short cuts, no more excuses and no more laziness! Wal-Mart bags are not wrapping paper, and wrapping paper is not a gift tag… I will be thoughtful, I will be caring, and I will be the most awesomest gift giver ever.

Ok, maybe not ever. I do have Andrew to compete with, but I’m working on it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anne
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 16:51:51

    So glad it made your day! Wishing you the best in the New Year, too!

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

