Handmade Challenge Wrapup

Remember my handmade challenge? I did it! All the gifts I gave for the year of 2011 were handmade. It was a crazy experiment, and I only wish I had put more time into it because I know I could have come up with some more awesomeness. There were so many ideas that I found that would have been so fun to create but with our busy family life, Andrew’s concussion, and several dress orders I was behind on pretty much everything.

(If you would like more information on any of these items, you can click the image to be linked to the original post, and for most items, free tutorials.)

I gave a lot of these (my kids LOVE theirs, and this is what they begged to give all their friends):

Bean Bags ($2 each or a set of 6 for $10)

and these:

Therapy Sacks ($8.50)

and a few of these:

Superhero/ Prince(ss) Cape ($20)

Chore Charts (No link here, $15)

Car Cozie

It was a lot of fun, and most everyone who received their gifts loved them. I don’t have pictures of many of the gifts that we did for Christmas, but the kids helped me make some painted canvases and coffee mugs for grandparents which was a ton of fun, and we also knitted a few hats together. (ok, ok, we are still working on them because we ran out of time. conner and caleb, your hats are coming!!!)

Of course lots of dresses (especially for my girls) and a few onesies and other items as well.

I almost forgot! Here is what I gave Andrew:

Guitar Pick Keychain ($19.99)

Becky was great to work with and super fast. I ordered way late and she still got it to me in time for Christmas. I had it engraved with a cute saying our family has “mostest mine i win” and I’m pretty sure Andrew really liked it.

I’m not giving up on giving handmade, but I will admit I’m excited to buy some gifts! More on my new challenge later!

(I didn’t mean for this post to turn into a sales pitch, but a girl’s gotta feed her family crafting habit. If you are interested in any of these items you can email me at lovealwaysxox at gmail dot com.) 

I would love to hear your thoughts!

