The Adeline

The Adeline

For sweet little Adeline’s birthday I named a dress after her! I have been looking for a good pillowcase dress tutorial for a while, and I finally found one that I love! Initially it took me forever to find one I liked because I was trying to avoid binding. But it is so easy to make your own (and it is described well in this tutorial) and now that I have done it a few times I’m not so scared of sewing armpits anymore! Pretty much now that I have figured out binding and armpits (use lots of pins!) I feel like I can conquer the world (or at least pillowcase dresses).

My Awesome Armpit Handiwork

I have big plans for The Adeline. I can add a contrasting band of fabric around the bottom, use a  wider ribbon (for the tie), use one long ribbon instead of two short ones, use matching fabric instead of ribbon…. Pillowcase dresses are so awesome because they are light and cool for the summer, but when it gets chilly you can throw a long sleeve tee under it with some jeans or leggings and you are set! Also, as your child grows the dress just turns into a top. They are generally one size fits most, so all you really need to do is adjust the length.

Evangeline has to try on everything I make, but she proves my point! It works as a top too.

And they are quick and simple! There are a million free tutorials out there, but I used this one. Her pattern is made to typically fit a 3T-5T but I just shortened it for Adeline. (It’s her first bday today!) Of course, if you don’t want to make it yourself you know I would love to. The Adeline is $16 without the contrasting band, and $18 with. Email me at lovealwaysxox at gmail dot com or leave a comment here with your email.

The Adeline ~ $16-$18

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 21:22:47

    Absolutely love this! The fabric is perfect for Adeline too…love it!

    Reply

  2. Jill Erickson
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:43:54

    Cute! The fabric really is perfect. Reminds me of Elissa. 🙂

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

