Getting Healthy – Part Two

Before I get into what I have to say today, I just want to add one thing to Thursday’s post. If you aren’t into totally going all out on the South Beach Diet and you are just looking for some healthy menu options, many of the Phase One food choices can be adapted to fit the everyday healthy eating lifestyle. Here are a few of our favorites:

Carne Asada– This meal is fantastic. Possibly my favorite all time meal, and Andrew agrees! Add a whole wheat tortilla if you’re wanting a little more.

Spicy Sauteed Chickpeas with Beef and Cilantro– The whole family loves this one. It also tastes great with a whole wheat pita if you want!

Kalyn and Mimi’s Chicken and Cashew Salad– After Phase One I added cut up grapes to the salad and we ate it on a whole wheat tortilla. Delicious!

And as promised, our exercise plans and results so far!

Exercise – Cheri: I have been doing the Couch to 5K. I learned about this program through a friend and I love it. I have never been much of a runner, but it is designed to get you from couch potato to running 5K (or 30 mins) in nine weeks. It is something that only takes 30 mins of my day and I can do it around my neighborhood at my own convenience. I love that it gets my heart pumping. I have a free app on my Android that works fine. You can’t control your music while the program is running, but I start Pandora before I start the C25K program and it’s fine. I also use my Endomondo app to track my distance.

Last week I added a Jillian Michaels yoga DVD to strengthen my core. My abs need some help! I did it one day and am still sore three days later. She really kicked my butt. Jillian is always taking it to the next level!

Exercise – Andrew: Andrew has also been doing the C25K but at a little quicker pace. He technically could run farther already, but he is using the gradual process to strengthen his back. He has also discovered that there is a Couch to 10 K so he will move on to that. Andrew has the paid C25K app on his Windows phone. I believe it was $2.99. It is a little nicer than my free app, but the free one works perfectly fine for me.

Andrew also has a couple apps on his phone that count his push up and sit up reps and are made to help him strengthen those muscles. He seems to like them, but I don’t know much about it. 🙂

Results: That’s what we really want to see right?! Andrew and I have both lost a decent amount of weight (although we both have a way to go before our goals are reached). What I’m really excited about though is our energy level. The two of us have gotten so much done over the past few weeks it is crazy! On the days that I go running right away in the morning I am constantly moving all day long and I love it. Our kids have noticed that we have been doing more with them and they have benefited in so many ways. Andrew has noticed less pain in his back and his breathing problems have slightly lessened.

It feels so great to be doing something that is healthy and natural and oh so good for my body! I obviously am a huge fan of the plan we have laid out for ourselves and the results we are seeing. Last night and today we were away from home and gave in to some sweet treats. The great thing is, we can just go back to Phase One of South Beach again and get right back on track. It is so forgiving and once you really get into it you find yourself not even wanting to load your body down with sugars and unhealthy carbs.

Let me know if you have any tips, or if you try out any of the things we are doing. I would love to help out if you want ideas for getting started or if you have questions about what we are doing. It is so great to have encouragement and friends to help you out along the way!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. tristadawn
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 15:13:12

    I have been doing the C25K as well, but I don’t have a smartphone so I found some great podcasts which people have made and put in the cues to walk/run etc. It’s awesome! I started Week 3 yesterday and it was HARD but I LOVE that I am challenging myself. I am so not a runner, so I go very slowly, but it feels SO good. Keep up the good work!

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

