Getting Healthy – Part One

Andrew and I have been working our tushies off (literally) getting healthy. I want to share with you a few of the things that we have been doing and some of the things that are helping.

Motivation: Andrew’s family history and his recent health have really spurred him along. As for me, a couple months back the kids and I were on the way to the park. Axel said, “Mommy, I’m tired so I think I’ll be lazy like you today.” Yup, that was motivation enough for me to find some energy for my kiddos!

Encouragement: It goes so much better with someone along your side! Having Andrew along through this has kept me going when I was ready to quit (and he has said the same about me).

Diet: We have been following The South Beach Diet. It is no sugar, caffeine or wheat for the first two weeks. Surprisingly, after the first 3-4 days it wasn’t too bad. And when you really think about it, two weeks isn’t that long. (It does feel like forever at the beginning though.) The first two weeks are to teach your body to use insulin more wisely, curb cravings, etc. I’m not really a pro on all the technical parts of it. After two weeks you reintroduce whole wheats and fruit back into your diet. The theory is that by the time you reach your desired weight you will know how to eat healthy and it will be a way of life rather than a ‘diet’.

Recipes: Kalyn’s Kitchen has been an invaluable resource for me. She has so many amazingly delicious recipes and many of her recipes are for the first phase of South Beach and most of them have a suggested side dish. If you click on the printer friendly version you can print out the recipe, flip over your paper and print the side dish on the back. Your meals are all ready and together! I installed a hook on my cupboard and then hung a cute clipboard on it it to clip my recipes onto.

Go to Foods: No Sugar Added Fudgesicles, Sugar Free Popsicles, Crystal Light, Laughing Cow Cheese, Pistachios, String Cheese, Hummus… I’ll add more as I think of them.

I’ll post more on our exercise and what results we are seeing tomorrow!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 08:30:47

    That is so great you posted this cause I was just needing to find some recipes,healthy but tasty. Also have you cooked with cocnut oil? It has great health benefits and tastes good.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Getting Healthy – Part Two « Wife, Mom, Woman

I would love to hear your thoughts!

