My First Project – Tea Wallet

Finished Project

I was a little nervous about starting my first project. And I picked something a little tricky for a newbie like me! I just took my time though and was patient. The instructions I followed were really good, and I didn’t have much of a hard time at all. I did a few test stitchings on some scraps and then got to it!

Look, I Ironed!

Finally Ready For The Real Deal

The tutorial I followed was from Christy of Is It Naptime Yet? There are lots of pictures and the only problem that I encountered with the directions was that I didn’t put the ribbon directly in the center but I think it still looks great. The directions didn’t state where to put it and I lined it up on the inside with one of the pockets.

Front

One  thing I still have to figure out is that for some reason every time I start out I get a little bunch of stitching. I think it has to do with where my thread is starting (over or under the presser foot)  because on the last stitch where it really counted because you would be able to see the back, it didn’t happen. (Yeah!) Anyone have any thoughts on the subject?

Stitching Clumps

I was considering giving this as a gift, but I am having a hard time parting with it. It is my first project and it turned out so great! If I knew it was for me I may have picked different fabrics, but this one is really cute. My only critique is the ribbon/thread color. I chose blue because there are blue accents in the flowered fabric, but the section I cut did not have much blue. It still matches though and I personally love it.

Inside

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Young Wifey
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 08:14:04

    What a great idea! How cute!

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 21:25:31

    It is truly adorable!! And I have seen it in person~ it’s even better in real life!!!

    Reply

  3. Jill
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 15:23:08

    Oh so cute! Looks great!

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

