a Hiatus

Apparently I went on a blogging hiatus. Life got busy and frankly, I didn’t have much to say. I go through phases where my brain is constantly dying to get things out, and then times when I just don’t think anyone would benefit from my thoughts. Recently I made a new purchase though and that has put me back in the blogging mood.

First, let me introduce you to my sewing machine:

notice the two pieces sitting unattached

I was given this sewing machine as a ‘hand me down’, and although I greatly appreciated it, I never learned how to use it properly. There was no manual, and I don’t think it was in proper shape. (Apparently you are supposed to have them tuned yearly??) On top of that, I was never really taught to sew. When I was in middle school I made a pillow case in home ec. but that was the extent of my experience.

After trying here and there to get it to work my sister and I finally sat down and spent over two hours just trying to get it to do a straight stitch. We did finally get it semi-operational and I produced these two projects. I was pretty proud of my first sewing experiments!

a curtain for axel's room

iPod case for my sister

i almost kept this for myself!

I then tried to tackle curtains for Miracle’s room. I got the sewing machine out and set up. I was all ready to go. I pushed the pedal down gently and was greeted by a lot of not very comforting noises. When I turned it off, there were now several pieces unattached, and I have no idea how to put them back together. I was pretty discouraged because I had just figured the darn thing out! (Well, obviously I hadn’t)

So, here is my new purchase!

new sewing machine!

I got it on one of these great pre-Christmas sales we are all being bombarded with everywhere. It came with an instruction manual and a DVD! Lots of other extras too, but I’ll tell you more about those later. I just wanted to invite you all along on my journey to learn how to sew and create some fun projects. Any ideas, links, tips etc. are welcome! I have been scouring the web and have found so many useful blogs and sites with instructions, videos and tutorials. I will post them as I find them because I’m so glad they are out there!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

