Challenge

I felt God challenging me this morning. I wasn’t sure to what, but it definitely felt like something.

I have been through a lot in the last couple of years. Many trials, lots of sickness. Hurting family members.

Through it all I have done my best to stay strong. My family needs me! I think God gave women a little extra bit of something to help her hold her family together in the hard times. Not to say it was always me! My husband has been there time and time again to support me. I am so thankful that God put us together to support each other in the good and bad.

Last night Andrew and I were talking. Axel is not feeling well and I got angry! Axel has had so many weird and uncommon ailments. My heart is breaking for him time and time again.

As our conversation went on I realized as I always do that God has some big things in store for my little boy. It is almost encouraging to see the devil come against him so often.  Andrew was praying once for Axel that he would never have to endure any more hurt or pain. But then the thought occurred to him…. What kind of person would he be if he never had to experience anything tough? Axel is one of the most gentle, tenderhearted people I have ever known.  He is a light to all who know him, and he is only four!

I spent a good long time in prayer last night and my prayers for my son turned to prayers for myself. That I would have peace, wisdom and strength. I want to be the best mom, the best wife, the best woman that I can be! I have failed so many times in all those categories and I felt the need to step up and into the next level.

This morning as I continued in thought and prayer I felt God challenging me to something but was not sure what. I opened my Bible and found myself in 2 Peter. “May God give you more and more grace and peace as you grow in your knowledge of God and Jesus our Lord.” (2 Peter 1:2)

I have made the choice to bloom and grow throughout my life! This is my challenge. Not just in the knowledge of God, but in all areas. I want to continue to learn and try new things. To be adventurous in life and love. To be someone who is fun and that people want to be around.

Thanks God for the reminder!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JudyAGoddard
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 20:52:59

    Such a good post! I can totally relate. It seems like such a cliche, but, it’s in the tough times that we really grow. I have a friend who has been in prison for several years. When she first got there it was so aweful that she told me she “pressed herself up against Christ so closely that she could hear his heart beating.” And that’s where she has tried to keep herself. And that’s where we should all be, all the time!

    Reply

  2. Lori
    Oct 21, 2009 @ 10:19:28

    Thank God for that word just for you. I love it when God does things like that. Praying for all of you. You’re right~ God must have a HUGE purpose for that little boy of yours. Love you.

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

