Just Smile

I had a bad day.

I was cranky, the kids were cranky. My house needs to be cleaned and it’s hot out.

Miracle had a WIC appointment this evening and I got a late start. As I rushed out the door I knew I would just be making it. As soon as I got in the car and started out I decided that a lot of my bad day had to do with my attitude. So I smiled. I decided to smile the whole way and that I would make the rest of my night pleasant.

I felt better pretty much right away. I remembered how nice the WIC nurses always are and was glad that I would be in a good mood for them. I then felt silly because with my bad attitude had come an uncaring attitude for my apperance. I was not a pretty sight.  Oh well, I was smiling.

Then I missed my exit. Had to go the long way around. Now I was really late. Next I got a not so happy nurse. Miracle had fallen asleep in the car on the way there and was not thrilled to be woken up and then have to be weighed and measured.

In not so many words the nurse told me my daughter was short and fat. (please) My pregnant self took everything she was saying personally. I am very emotional right now!

Then the puking started. Miracle just threw up. A lot. For no apparent reason. WIC nurse hands me a box of not so absorbant tissues and keeps on talking.

“ummm…. I think I’m going to need your garbage can or something.” (the puke is now coming out Miracle’s nose)

Finally she gets up and gets some paper towels. I was more than happy letting her clean up the mess on the floor. Pregnant self is now trying not to join in on the puking.

Miracle finally stops, I take off her clothes and do my best with the box of worthless tissues.

I’m pretty sure I didn’t hear a word the nurse said the rest of the time. I put my baby back to sleep and all I could think of was how desperately I wanted to wash my hands. Oh wait, the nurse did throw me a few unpleasant remarks about how my daughter hadn’t looked well the whole time, and how she was going to get cold with no clothes on.

The whole time I was fighting back tears. I was finally done and headed home. I realized that the smile fest on the way there was God preparing me for what was about to happen. I decided I would smile the whole way home too.

I cried instead.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 07:57:31

    Oh my goodness! I swear, so many people are in the wrong profession. That aweful nurse!

    I hope you went home to a lot of hugs and kisses. What an ordeal!

    Reply

  2. wifemomwoman
    Aug 14, 2009 @ 10:28:39

    when i got home i took a bath and then got a foot massage!

    Reply

  3. Girly Muse
    Aug 16, 2009 @ 16:03:27

    awwww. want to drop kick that nurse.

    glad you got a nice bath and foot massage out of the deal. 🙂

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

