Now What?

Having a husband and numerous family members involved in the music industry I have been trained quite well to not illegally copy music. Seriously. Even if I didn’t care, the wrath of my uncle Nate would be enough to scare me away from burning cd’s without permission.

“….if you prefer to download or make a free copyย  of their (the artists) music without permission – that’s stealing. maybe they should come get their next car for free out of your driveway….cool?”

nate sabin

Last week I started using a new preschool program with my daycare kids. I ordered it on-line and it came with a bunch of cool stuff, one thing being a music cd. The kids love it. I noticed on the parent newsletter that they included lyrics and so I thought maybe there was some sort of allowance for me to copy the cd for my families. I had to be sure though.

I have been in contact with a staff member from the program so I e-mailed her and asked if that was allowed. I know sometimes you are allowed to copy things if you are using them within your program so I figured I would give it a shot. Here is the response she gave me:

Hello Cheri,

Our cd’s are coprighted. BUT if you burn them for your families we won’t know. Hint…hint.

๐Ÿ™‚

So you see, I tried to do the right thing…



3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Jul 15, 2009 @ 22:36:44

    You’re a real-life christian, Cheri. This proves it.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. wifemomwoman
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 08:05:24

    lol. now i feel like i have to confess that i do in fact burn a cd now and then.

    Reply

  3. Girly Muse
    Jul 17, 2009 @ 17:29:17

    Aw, sweet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe instead this will just be like stealing a tiny piece of candy…not a whole car. heehee I’m kidding. I think you’re gonna be alright…with God and Nate. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

