out of my comfort zone

I was talking with a friend recently and we were discussing what we are interested in. Outside of boys, kids, marriage, cleaning….. Ok, I’m not really interested in cleaning but when you do it as much as I do you would think it is my favorite pasttime! Sometimes it feels like all those other things take up all your time and then you don’t have anything left for hobbies. I personally love scrapbooking but it is a little restrictive. Time consuming, expensive, and I consider it to be more of a winter hobby.

So I made a decision. I was going to find some new hobbies. Which led me to wonder why I hadn’t done this before? Several thoughts came to mind. First of all, my family is my joy. So much of what I do revolves around them and I love it. Parks, swimming, zoos, Andrew’s shows….. But I know how important it is for me to do my own thing. To recharge. I thought about some things I would like to try and then realized the biggest reason. Trying new things, meeting new people, going new places – that’s out of my comfort zone.

That led me to a new decision. I was going to step out of that comfort zone. Maybe.

Ok. If any of you have ever even met my husband you know that he is an avid disc golfer. Avid is putting it mildly. So for a couple special occasions we went as a family. Father’s Day last year and once just for fun earlier this summer. Andrew also has a basket in the yard that he uses to practice putting and I have been out there a few times. I realized I really like it too!

For Mother’s Day I got this beauty:

c98210769a28a13b5635b176c07fa4a5.image.650x550

Andrew stocked it with pink and purple discs and putters and a pink metal water bottle that I saw at Patinas and fell in love with. Isn’t he great?!

And still, my playing was limited to putting in the back yard and playing catch at the park. I wanted to get out but it just wasn’t happening. The best time for me to go is Tuesday nights but that is the night when Andrew plays in the Sundog tournament and they are all so ‘good’. Serious players. They wouldn’t want me around. A newbie! It was OUT OF MY COMFORT ZONE.

I finally did it. Last night. I played in the tournament. Andrew played on a girl card so he could be with me and coached me through it the whole way. Like I said, isn’t he great?!

The women’s scores over the past 12 weeks range from -3 to +26. There was a +30 and a +47 thrown in on a couple of the weeks just to make me feel a little better. I threw a +49. I don’t care! I had fun. Not to mention it was my first time out without kids and only my second time through a whole course. I think I show some real potential here!  haha.

Well, I’m off to practice my putting 😛

head on over to spoils of wear for one of my favorite parts of any activity- accesorizing!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 12:42:20

    That’s so awesome! Good for you!

    I’ll play in a league with you sometime (like an off-choir Tuesday)!

    And I want that bag. Where can I get one?

    Reply

  2. Girly Muse
    Jul 01, 2009 @ 20:04:15

    That bag is SO cute. Almost makes me want to take up disc golf. Almost.

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

