I love you, i love you not

I have a love hate relationship with Ikea. For the most part I love it. I love the prices. I love the store. I am not one of those people who are put off by large crowds, and if you don’t go on the weekend or a holiday you’ll be fine anyway.

Everything there is so fun. So trendy. So my style.

The one thing I don’t love is that I usually end up back at the store exchanging a piece of something that broke while being assembled. You get what you pay for right?

So here I would like you to see my most favorite Ikea purchase yet.

100_1271

Now, don’t get me wrong. I have many many pieces from Ikea that I love. My black expedit bookshelf is WAY up there. The reason that this table is my favorite is largely because of the price.

Whenever we go to Ikea we have to check out the as is department. It is so fun! I always find some little treasure in there. On this particular trip we were exchanging a piece of Miracle’s new dresser (I told you, always a piece to exchange!) and went to the as is department while we waited.

And there it was, in all it’s shining glory. I have been looking for a dining room table since before we moved. You see, our old house did not have a dining room, and the kitchen had a built in table. So we moved into our beautiful new home with nothing but the dreams of what would eventually fill our empty dining room.

It was perfect. Exactly what I had in mind. It seats six comfortably…. and then you add the leaf! I can fit eight whole people at my table without even squeezing!

Normally this table runs $300. But it was the display model so they marked it down to $200. There was a scratch or two, but nothing that normal wear would not have given it in a month or two anyway. Considering we were saving $100 it seemed fair.

The car we had would not fit it and we had to evaluate the budget anyway so I said a little prayer that the table would not be sold before the next morning.

Deciding we could cut back a little here and there Andrew headed out the next morning to get me my table! When he got to Ikea he asked an employee for assistance and was told that he had to carry it on a cart himself. Andrew questioned the man but was again told to do it himself. So he got a cart, picked up the table and attempted to place it on the cart.

It crumbled.

I would have cried. Had I been there. The employee came over and assessed the situation.

Ikea employee “Yeah, this isn’t worth anything now.”

Andrew “What are you going to do with it?”

Ikea employee “We’ll throw it in the dump. It isn’t even worth $5.”

Andrew “I’ll give you $5”

The man slapped a new price tag on it, Andrew brought it home, and screwed the legs back on!

Yeah for my $5 dining room table!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Girly Muse
    May 20, 2009 @ 23:20:18

    Andrew told me about this the other night and I was so proud of him. Way to get you a $5 dining room table…the one you wanted, to boot. It’s so cute!!!

    Reply

  2. Jill
    May 21, 2009 @ 09:46:49

    Yeeehhh!!!

    THAT is loads of money-savin’ goodness!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Long Weekends…. mmmmm « Wife, Mom, Woman

I would love to hear your thoughts!

