Jealousy is rude

Several months back I was listening in on a conversation about someone who had recently purchased a wonderful new home. One of the people talking was expressing her jealousy about it and how she felt she would never be able to have the same. The woman responded with somewhat of a challenge. “Maybe if you are truly happy for them, yours will come.”

That stuck with me.

Why wouldn’t we be happy for someone when good things happen? When something good happens to me, I want people to be happy for me. Not pretending to be happy.

I have struggled with jealousy. I’ll admit it. I believe most of us have at one time or another. Ever since that day several months ago I have been working to put aside my jealousy and be truly happy for people.

I’ve decided – Jealousy is rude.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jennifer
    Feb 04, 2009 @ 16:49:31

    Amen sister!!! I too learned this lesson along time ago, and God still gives refresher courses here and there. Jealousy IS rude. Jealousy also steals your own joy when it’s your turn.

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

