Ants and Lazybones

Quite often in my spiritual life I find myself having what I like to call duh moments. Times when I have revelations that sound so obvious when I say them out loud, but they are totally new and wonderful to me.

I remember about a year ago I was really struggling with my children. Temper was short and it seemed there was always someone crying (including myself). In a meltdown between my three year old and I there finally came the answer. Throughout it all I knew that I needed to pray for help, but I wasn’t praying.

How foolish. How simple.

I immediately in the chaos around me (Axel was screaming, naked, and had poop smeared on his tushie) went into prayer and it was miraculous. I won’t say that I have never since then had my temper flair, but I was instantly lifted out of whatever was holding me in such a nasty place.

As I was thinking on my New Year’s resolutions, I had another one of those duh moments. I was specifically thinking about my goal to become more organized. “What do I need to do to be more organized?” I thought…. hmmm “I could do this, or that, or maybe this. Oh, I’ll do it later.” That’s when it hit me. The root of my organizational problems is procrastination!

I was reminded of Proverbs 6:4-11

4 Don’t put it off; do it now!
Don’t rest until you do.
5 Save yourself like a gazelle escaping from a hunter,
like a bird fleeing from a net.

6 Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones.
Learn from their ways and become wise!
7 Though they have no prince
or governor or ruler to make them work,
8 they labor hard all summer,
gathering food for the winter.
9 But you, lazybones, how long will you sleep?
When will you wake up?
10 A little extra sleep, a little more slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest—
11 then poverty will pounce on you like a bandit;
scarcity will attack you like an armed robber.

I giggle every time i read verse 4. “Don’t put it off; do it now!” It is possible I need to revise my resolutions a bit….

Praying you lazybones all take a lesson from the ants!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Girly Muse
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 09:51:54

    love this! i’m encouraged today to not put things off! it’s something i’ve gotten better at doing the last few years and i’m ready to snap myself back to action. heehee thanks for this.

    Reply

  2. wifemomwoman
    Jan 19, 2009 @ 15:46:46

    i never used to be a procrastinator until i got married! andrew has influenced me in so many good ways, but this is not one of them! lol. i’ve been doing better since i wrote this. i think it helps me that i blogged about it because i have so many people to hold me accountable now!

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

