New Year, Old Thoughts

I have always hated New Years resolutions. Why wait for the new year to set goals for yourself? We should always be evaluating and re-evaluating. Right? I suppose the new year just serves as a reminder that we should be setting goals. Similar to checking your smoke alarms at daylight savings time.

The other reason I have protested resolutions is because everyone does it. One of my flaws is that I tend to avoid doing things just because ‘everyone else is doing it’. Works out really well a lot of the times (especially when it comes to spending money), but sometimes it works against me. Setting goals is not a bad thing and should not be avoided because everyone is doing it. Hmmm… maybe that should be my first resolution.

So without further ado…. here is my list of new (and a few old) years resolutions.

1. Make choices for myself. (see above)

2. Want less, spend less.

3. Organize. My life, my house, my family, my bills….

A short list, but some huge goals!

I read this on my Aunt Lori’s blog today and yes Lori, it rocked my world too. The Message, 2 Corinthians 8:10-12 says,

“The best thing you can do right now is to finish what you started last year and not let those good intentions grow stale. Your heart’s been in the right place all along. You’ve got what it takes to finish it up, so go to it. Once the commitment is clear, you do what you can, not what you can’t. The heart regulates the hands.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Girly Muse
    Jan 03, 2009 @ 14:42:23

    i love it! great writing. and we can hold each other to these resolutions.

    i am going to add you to my page right now. if i can remember how to do that. 🙂

    love you!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Ants and Lazybones « Wife, Mom, Woman

I would love to hear your thoughts!

