Cheri’s Pickin’s – The Willows Nest

Hello and welcome to this edition of Cheri’s Pickin’s where I, your wonderful host, introduce you to some fabulous sellers and their wonderful goodies! There are so many fabulous sellers on etsy and all over the web and I am going to help you find some of them. I have asked each seller to give me a little info on themselves and their shop and at the end you will find out how you can win a free item! So, without further delay…. here is this weeks pickin’!

(If you are a seller on or off etsy please let me know if you would like to be featured in my blog!)

The Willows Nest

Hi people, my name is Helen Wheeler-Shaw, a New Zealander now living in the good ol’ US. After recently ‘discovering’ etsy, I have had a lot of fun getting my shop together called ‘The Willows Nest’. I am one of those crazy creative types who finds it ‘ hard to breathe’, if I haven’t been ‘throwing some paint around’ for a while!

I have been ‘arty’ all my life, am always’ into’ something new but always return to painting, my true love.  I am delighted to have many paintings in private collections in Australia,  America,  New Zealand , Saudi Arabia and South Africa.

I create in my lovely studio looking out at the wildlife in the hill country of Texas, very inspiring! I live there with my husband ( from South Africa,) our son Luke (born in Saudi Arabia) and  Zackary ( our very own little American) We are like a mini United nations! lol!

So even with the constant battle of keeping the 18 month old toddler from ‘loving’ all my animal paintings, I have managed to start filling up my little shop, here are a couple of examples!   ‘Saffron’ and ‘Sunset’, painted in watercolors and Indian Ink

and ‘Fuchsia and Friend’, also watercolor and Indian Ink.

Currently I am all inspired by the old Botanical prints, so popular in Victorian Times, these current works reflect this.

I have included a give away for your draw, it is a set of  6 yummy textured notecards with matching envelopes entitled ‘Nesting.’ There are 2 cards of each image – Prints of my original work ‘Falling Feather’ , ‘Little Blue’ and ‘Spring Nest.’ All 3 works were completed in charcoal, pastel and Indian Ink. Enjoy, congrats to the winner!

Lovely to pop in and say Hi’ to you all, come and say hi to me if you have time at:

http://www.thewillowsnest.etsy.com

Cheers , Helen

Now you can have a chance to win those notecards.  Wohoo! Thanks Helen:)

To enter:

  • go and look at The Willows Nest
  • choose your favorite item
  • leave a comment here with your pick
  • don’t forget your e-mail address so I can contact you

The winner will be randomly chosen. Good luck to you all! Please, only one entry per person to make it fair. I will announce the winner Monday morning! If winner does not respond within 48 hours a new winner will be chosen.

Congrats to Sandra for winning the notecard set from The Willow’s Nest!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer Stewart
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 15:53:48

    I love Azure Swimmer! Great shop! You have a talent I can only dream of having!!!

  2. JoBead
    Oct 24, 2008 @ 16:32:47

    I love the Fancy Goldfish painting! The colors are wonderful!

  3. nanouke
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 07:34:41

    I LOVE The Fancy Goldfish -Orange, great great seller, thank you for sharing!

  4. winsomehollow
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 13:30:18

    i have to say i love these notecards! some of my favorite images! thanks

  5. jess
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 13:54:53

    Your shop is so cute!! My favorite item is the “falling feather” card; I love the colors and delicacy!

  6. Rachel
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 18:53:27

    Green Tree Frog – “Living Green” notecards but it was a tough choice. The little frog guy just kind of jumped out at me with his vibrant colors and his amazing eyes! he looks so real, are you sure you didn’t photograph him? 🙂

  7. Debbi
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 22:56:06

    I love the Tree Frog! The colors are amazing and I just love the angle 🙂 Seems like he is about to jump out at you 🙂

    You have so many cute things though!

    Debbi

  8. Nicole
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 23:04:27

    I LOVE the wooden art box…too cute!

  9. Melanie
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 23:07:06

    I love this box. The way it’s made to look so antique and the cool pic, she looks like 1920s? Love it.

  10. Melanie
    Oct 26, 2008 @ 23:07:38

  11. sandra
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 05:47:59

    what a great giveaway! I LOVE the green tree frog…I thought it was a photo and then learned it was a painting. SO cool!

    Sandra
    theEclecticstudio.etsy.com

  12. Brenda
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 06:05:40

    Such adorable items. It amazes me the talent that goes into such items. I dabble myself, but would be ashamed to show you the items compared to yours…LOL! Great job and much success to you for the future!

    Brenda
    http://www.naughtyandnicelingerie.com
    (an ebay store – etsy’s cousin! J/K)

  13. tricia
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 06:33:28

    I love everything, but was really drawn to “ACEO – Original art- ‘Davis had a rather unsettling morning’

  14. Leah Mirbaba
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 10:11:45

    How could you NOT love Davis the startled elephant!!??!! Too cute.

