Living Lesson Books

Romans 7:18-25 (The Message)

17-20But I need something more! For if I know the law but still can’t keep it, and if the power of sin within me keeps sabotaging my best intentions, I obviously need help! I realize that I don’t have what it takes. I can will it, but I can’t do it. I decide to do good, but I don’t really do it; I decide not to do bad, but then I do it anyway. My decisions, such as they are, don’t result in actions. Something has gone wrong deep within me and gets the better of me every time.

 21-23It happens so regularly that it’s predictable. The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up. I truly delight in God’s commands, but it’s pretty obvious that not all of me joins in that delight. Parts of me covertly rebel, and just when I least expect it, they take charge.

 24I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question?

 25The answer, thank God, is that Jesus Christ can and does. He acted to set things right in this life of contradictions where I want to serve God with all my heart and mind, but am pulled by the influence of sin to do something totally different.

I am currently reading “The Power of a Positive Mom”by Karol Ladd and I want to share a portion that really stood out to me yesterday. This subject has been heavy on my mind lately as Axel is growing older and really becoming a little boy. I see him doing things that are recognizable as traits of mine or Andrew’s. Hopefully I can show him good lessons!

If you have not read this book I highly recommend it! It has really been an encouragement and inspiration to me in so many ways.

(excerpt from The Power of a Positive Momby Karol Ladd)

“Your kids are reading a book every day. Now wait a minute, you may be thinking, My kids aren’t even reading age yet. Or perhaps you are thinking, My kids don’t like to read that much. Let me assure you, your kids are reading a book every day. The title is Life’s Living Lessons and you are the author. Our children are watching our actions and hearing our words every day. They are learning how to act and how to live as they read us!

It is possibly the most influential book they will ever read, with the exception of the Bible. In fact, reading it is guaranteed to be life-changing!

What are some of the chapters in our Living Lessons saga? Hopefully, the table of contents reads something like this:

Chapter One: Maintaining Self-Control Even When You’re Tired and Frustrated

Chapter Two: Showing Patience in Traffic Jams and Grocery Store Lines

Chapter Three: Saying Kind Things About Others

Chapter Four: Telling the Truth, Even about the Little Things

Chapter Five: Helping Others When They Need a Hand

Chapter Six: Grumbling Less, Complimenting More

Chapter Seven: Using Table Manners and Other Forms of Good Etiquette

Chapter Eight: Obeying Traffic Rules and Laws

Chapter Nine: Praying about all Things, Worrying about Nothing

Unfortunately, many of our texts read a little differently. Can you relate to the following chapter titles?

Chapter One: Losing My Temper in a Frazzled Moment in Time

Chapter Two: Frustration and Anger in the Checkout Line

Chapter Three: Telling Juicy Stories about Friends and Foes

Chapter Four: A Few White Lies Go a Long Way

Chapter Five: No Time to Care, I Have Enough Challenges on My Own

Chapter Six: Grumbling Without Regret

Chapter Seven: Good Manners out the Window

Chapter Eight: Traffic Rules Were Made to Be Broken

Chapter Nine: Worry Now, Pray Later

Like it or not, our life is an open book, continually read by the little eyes in our homes. The lessons we deliver to our children verbally may be wise and good, but lasting lessons are caught, not taught. It is rather sobering to realize that all the “right stuff” that comes out of our mouths can be made null and void if our kids do not see good character qualities lived out in our day – to – day lives. An old Chinese proverb says, “Not the cry, but the flight of the wild duck, leads the flock to fly and follow.” Where are we leading our little flock by our example? How can we become better living lesson books for our children?”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jesus Christ
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 12:04:54

    Romans is more than a book of theology; it is also a book of exhortation(encouragement). Jesus Christ

    Reply

I would love to hear your thoughts!

